The Kid and Weasel Dog

Stories & poems to share ideas

Habits

I want to tell you of the value of habits.

I am visiting my daughter and son-in-law in LA.  They live in a neighborhood with hilly, uneven places to walk.  It’s not what I’m used to.  It’s not the most fun and/or confortable place to walk.

I just couldn’t sit in the house and watch TV.  My habits were too strong.  I have gone out three times to walk today.  I managed to find a route I could handle and have walked OVER 5 miles so far.   I could see me getting in some more milage this evening.

Yesterday we drove almost 450 miles.  The trip meant that a stop at a fastfood place.  I ordered the grilled chicken and checked the calorie chart on the wall.  Even though I was tired at the end of the day, I managed to consume fewer calories than I burned.  I also go up early and walked with my dog as much as possible.  I was able to do this because of habits.

I have been told and I believe that if you can do something for about 28 days it becomes a habit.  The same is true with the foods you like.  My tastes now prefer a nice piece of fish instead of a piece of beef.

I find that I have the most trouble sticking to my habits and tastes when I let myself get tired.

My dog helps me to handle that because she will not let me sit when she wants to walk.  She also expects a portion of my food.   She helps me to stay on track.  She also proves my belief that we will do things for others that we won’t do for ourselves.

April 10, 2010 Posted by | 1 | Leave a comment